WILLIAM & MARY

BOARD OF VISITORS COMMITTEE ON ACADEMIC AFFAIRS DRAFT MINUTES APRIL 21, 2022 ALAN B. MILLER HALL – BRINKLEY COMMONS

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

Mr. S. Douglas Bunch, Chair Dr. Karen Kennedy Schultz, Vice Chair Hon. Mari Carmen Aponte (*remote via Zoom*) Ms. Anne Leigh Kerr Mr. John P. Rathbone Dr. John Gilmour, Faculty Representative

COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT

Mr. Victor K. Branch Mr. Tarun Chandrasekar, Student Representative

OTHER BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT

Ms. Ardine Williams Ms. Cynthia E. Hudson Mr. James A. Hixon Mr. J.E. Lincoln Saunders Ms. Meghana Boojala, Student Representative Dr. Thomas J. Ward, Faculty Representative Dr. Shannon H. White, Staff Liaison

OTHERS PRESENT

Dr. Peggy Agouris, Provost Ms. Amy Sebring, Chief Operating Officer Ms. Carrie Nee, University Counsel Dr. D. Derek Aday, VIMS Dean and Director Dr. Robert C. Knoeppel, Dean of the School of Education Mr. A. Benjamin Spencer, Dean of the School of Law Dr. Jeremy P. Martin, Chief of Staff Mr. Michael J. Fox, Senior Assistant to the President and Secretary to the Board of Visitors Ms. Jessica Walton, Deputy Secretary to the Board of Visitors Members of the President's Cabinet W&M Staff and Faculty

CALL TO ORDER AND INTRODUCTORY REMARKS

Mr. S. Douglas Bunch, Chair, called the Committee on Academic Affairs to order at 1:19 p.m.

Mr. Bunch noted that Ms. Mari Carmen Aponte has notified the Rector that she is unable to attend this meeting due to a personal professional matter related to her nomination to serve as Ambassador to Panama. She would like to participate in the meeting electronically from Washington, DC. Pursuant to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act and Section III.D of the Board bylaws, Mr. Bunch moved that the Board approve this use of electronic participation. Motion was seconded by Ms. Karen Kennedy Schultz and approved unanimously by voice vote.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Recognizing that a quorum was present, Mr. Bunch asked for a motion to adopt the minutes of the February 10, 2022 meeting. Motion was made by Ms. Anne Leigh Kerr, seconded by Dr. Karen Kennedy Schultz, and approved by voice vote.

PROVOST'S REPORT

Provost Agouris reported that the university has hired an Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs & Development, Professor of Education Pamela Eddy. Provost Agouris reported that the search for a new Dean of the Mason School of Business to replace Larry Pulley, chaired by Senior Associate Dean of Faculty Affairs and Chancellor Term Professor of Business Kimberly Smith, is progressing, with a first round of candidates identified with a shortlist soon to follow. Provost Agouris reported that the search for a new Vice Provost for Academic Affairs to replace Steve Hanson is being chaired by Dean of the Faculty of Arts & Sciences Maria Donoghue Velleca.

Provost Agouris reported that the faculty transition program approved at the last Committee meeting has been announced, and faculty are reaching out to their respective deans for information.

Provost Agouris reported that there has been significant activity related to sustainable curriculum, particularly regarding the COLL curriculum, with the COLL curriculum sustainability study close to completion.

Provost Agouris reported that the program for developing mid-level academic leaders will conclude on Friday, April 29, and faculty participants have participated and offered innovative ideas.

Provost Agouris reported on the Data Initiative Taskforce she assembled to study how William & Mary does evidence-based planning. Work to inventory existing data structures is ongoing under the leadership of Dr. Robert C. Knoeppel, Dean of the School of Education, and Ms. Sallie L. Marchello, Associate Provost and University Registrar.

Dr. John Gilmour, Faculty Representative, reported that faculty and students are relieved to be attending classes without mandatory masking requirements.

ACTION MATERIALS

Mr. Bunch brought forth and requested a motion on the following resolutions:

- Resolution 6: Appointments to Fill Vacancies in the Instructional Faculty
- **Resolution 7:** Designated Professorships
- **Resolution 8:** Faculty Promotions
- **Resolution 9:** Faculty Leaves of Absence
- **Resolution 10:** Modify the Bylaws of the Faculty of Arts & Sciences

Resolutions 6-10 were moved as a block by Mr. John P. Rathbone, seconded by Ms. Cynthia E. Hudson, and approved by voice vote.

Mr. Bunch then brought forth and requested a motion on the following resolutions:

Retirement of...

•	Resolution 11:	Brent Allred – School of Business

- **Resolution 12:** Aaron Paul Blossom School of Business
- Resolution 13: Johnston M. Brendel School of Education
- Resolution 14: Herrington J. Bryce School of Business
- **Resolution 15:** Judith B. Harris School of Education

Committee on Academic Affairs – April 21, 2022 DRAFT Minutes Page 3

- **Resolution 16:** John M. Hoenig School of Marine Science
- Resolution 17: Rex M. Holmlin School of Business
- Resolution 18: Paul Marcus William & Mary Law School
- Resolution 19: Carol L. Tieso School of Education
- **Resolution 20:** Robert E. Williams School of Business

Resolutions 11-20 were moved as a block by Ms. Kerr, seconded by Ms. Schultz, and approved by voice vote.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, Mr. Bunch adjourned the meeting at 1:27 p.m.